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Sec. 9-48. - General permit fees.
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General permit fees shall be in accordance with the following schedule of rates. Other fees,
as referenced throughout this division are also applicable before, during and after permit issuance.
If the Building Official questions the cost of construction attested to and believes it does not
accurately reflect the cost of construction for the scope of work covered by the permit, he or she
may request and utilize a copy of the signed and executed contract for work to be completed under
requested permit; apply the values in the most current edition of the RS Means Construction
Valuation system; Building Construction Cost Data or other relevant information, at the Building
Official's discretion.

(1) Inspections of vacant, boarded-up structures or buildings.
Residential or commercial buildings (fee may be charged no more than once every
thirty (30) days) .....$79.00
(2 Presale inspection, after-hours inspection, expedited plan review service, forty-year
building safety inspection program and business tax inspections.
Minimum Per Additional
For First Man-Hour
Hour
a. Presale, [$145.42 $101.14
inspection,
after-
hours
inspection
and
business
tax
inspections|
b. 75.00 75.00
Expedited
plan
review
service
c. Forty- 300.00 none
Year
Building flat fee
safety
inspection
program
3) Permit and fee schedule.
a. Contractor maintenance fee .....$26.00
b. Replacement permit card .....10.00
C. Board of rules and appeals fee. All permits shall be accompanied by a fee

assessed on construction value as per the most current Broward County

Commission Resolution.

d. Debris fee. Per city ordinance_section 24-100 and_section 24-101, as may be

amended.
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e. A building permit surcharge fee for the department of Community
Affairs/Florida Building Commission shall be assessed pursuant to F.S. §
553.721, as may be amended.

f. Meetings requested by architects, engineers and owner builders prior to plan
review and issuance of permits and meetings requested after permit issuance
shall have a fee of seventy-five dollar ($75.00) minimum per hour per

discipline.

g. Construction lien law. Per F.S. § 713.135(4) a fee will be assessed for each
permit issued to process a construction lien law statement to each property
owner.

h. Training and educational fees. All permits for new construction, alterations or

additions shall be accompanied by payment of a training and educational fee of
two one-hundredths (2/100th) of one (1) percent of estimated cost ($0.02 per
$100.00). All fees collected pursuant hereto shall be set aside to offset the cost
of training and education, including travel related expenses, materials,
equipment, code books, reference materials and conferences, of personnel in
the regulation, inspection and enforcement of the Florida Building Code.

. Technology fees. All permits shall be accompanied by payment of a technology
fee of five (5) percent of the permit fee. All fees collected pursuant hereto shall
be set aside to offset the cost of computer system purchases or technology
expenditures within the building department.

J- Reinspection. All permit fees shall include initial required inspections. If an
inspector, upon a requested inspection, finds the work does not conform to or
comply with the approved plans or comply with the provisions of the state law,
building code, or City Code of Ordinances, he or she shall provide a written
notice indicating the corrections required. After corrections have been made, a
reinspection fee shall be paid and a reinspection of work requested.

Reinspection (All disciplines) .....74.82

The payment for reinspection fees shall be made before any further permits will
be issued to the person owing same. No further inspections will be made until
all outstanding reinspection fees have been paid.

k. Change of contractor .....101.95

. Certificate of occupancy .....363.45

1. Partial certificate of occupancy .....363.45
2. Temporary certificate of occupancy, fifty (50) percent of permit fee, with
a cap of ten thousand dollars ($10,000.00).
3. Extension of temporary certificate of occupancy .....25.00
4. Certificate of completion .....25.00
m. Permit renewal. When an active permit is renewed prior to expiration, with no

change in plans, the permit fee shall be fifty (50) percent of the original fee.
After permit has expired full permit fees will be incurred.

n. Property records request and requests for data reports per F.S. § 119.07.
1. Longer than fifteen (15) minutes actual cost of labor and overhead
associated with duplication and research.
2. Copies of records and plan reproduction from microfiche, per
sheet .....2.00

3. Single-side per page .....0.15
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4. Double-side copies per page .....0.20
S. True copies per page .....1.00

0. Review of replacement plans, re-review of initial plans, revised plans, and shop
drawings:

Minimum fee for first half hour .....89.00

Each additional quarter hour or fraction thereafter .....44.50
p. Permit fees:

Minimum permit fee .....101.95

Exception: At no time shall the permit fee exceed fifty (50) percent of the cost
of the total material and labor required to complete the job. Proof of actual cost
of material and labor shall be submitted to the building official for this exception
to be granted.

At the time of permit application, fifty (50) percent of the estimated permit fee
shall be paid. When application for a permit is approved and before a permit is
issued, the balance of the permit fee shall be paid.

1. All new construction, additions, alterations and repairs.
Up to one thousand dollars ($1,000.00) of total job cost .....240.00

Each additional five hundred dollars ($500.00) or fraction thereafter of
total job cost .....5.38

2. Below-grade only permit:
Single-family/duplex .....158.03
All others .....790.00
3. Awnings and canopies:
One hundred (100) square feet and under .....101.95

Each additional one hundred (100) square feet or fraction thereafter over
one hundred (100) square feet .....3.16

4. Demolition:
Five hundred (500) square feet and under .....180.00

Each additional one thousand (1,000) square feet, or fraction
thereafter .....15.80

S. Docks:
20 linear feet and under .....158.03
Each additional foot or fraction thereafter .....4.75
6. Fences:
I Minimum fee, for fifty (50) linear feet and under .....117.59

ii. Aluminum, wire, PVC or wood. Each additional linear foot or
fraction thereafter ..... 0.76

iii.  Concrete precast.
Each additional linear foot or fraction thereafter .....0.85
iv. Masonry. Each additional linear foot or fraction thereafter .....1.34
7. Flag poles.

Not exceeding twenty (20) feet above grade, when located on property
with a residential use as defined by Chapter 47 of the Code .....No fee
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Any person who has paid a fee for installation of a flag pole which is
exempt from the permit fee as provided for in this section may apply for
and receive a refund of the permit fee.

8. Fuel/oil tanks.
Removal of fuel tanks, per tank .....101.95
9. Windows, doors, curtain walls, and security bars. Glass windows, doors,

curtain walls, security bars, installation of exterior operable windows and
exterior sliding glass doors in new buildings or additions exceeding two
(2) stories in height and the installations, alterations and repair of such
windows and doors in existing buildings of any height, as follows:

I Any combination of up to three (3) windows or doors is .....150.62
Each additional window or door, thereafter .....20.00

i. Installation of curtain walls, including windows and doors therein
and the alteration, repair or replacement of storefronts and similar
fixed glass, one hundred (100) square feet or less:

Minimum fee ..... 150.62

Each additional one hundred (100) square feet or fraction
thereafter up to one thousand (1,000) square feet .....16.60

Each additional one hundred (100) square feet or fraction
thereafter over one thousand (1,000) square feet .....13.11

i New and replacement security bars or alteration for up to three
(3) openings .....101.95

Each additional opening thereatfter .....20.00
10.  House moving:
House moved into city or moved to another location within city .....316.05
House moved on same lot .....316.05
House moved out of city .....220.00
11.  Lightweight concrete:
One thousand dollars ($1,000.00) of job cost and under .....240.00

Each additional five hundred dollars ($500.00) of job cost or fraction
thereafter .....5.38

12.  paving/resurfacing:
Five hundred (500) square feet and under .....180.00

Each additional five hundred (500) square feet or fraction
thereafter .....47.81

13.  Piling:
Dolphin pile, each .....22.00
14.  Roof coverings:
One thousand (1,000) square feet and under .....181.90

Each additional one hundred (100) square feet or fraction
thereafter .....10.00

15.  sandblasting, per story .....101.95
16.  Seawalls:
Fifty (50) linear feet and under .....173.83
Each additional linear foot or fraction thereafter .....2.37
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18.

19.

20.
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Shutters:

Minimum fee up to three (3) openings .....150.62
Each additional opening thereafter .....20.00

Signs

I Twenty (20) square feet and under .....113.69

Each additional twenty (20) square feet or fraction
thereafter .....45.82

Any relocation or change of copy of an existing sign, same fee as
for new sign:

i. Reconditioning fee
Minimum fee .....101.95
iii.  Temporary builder's sign
One hundred (100) square feet and under .....39.50
Each additional square foot or fraction thereafter .....0.63
iv. Special promotion, grand opening .....111.80
Pools, pool decks, spas and fountains:
. Pools:
Twenty thousand (20,000) gallons and under .....327.86

Each additional one thousand (1,000) gallons or fraction
thereafter .....7.11

i. Pool decks .....176.99
Tents thirty-day maximum .....101.95
Trailer set-up minimum fee .....101.95

(Ord. No. C-10-30, § 1, 9-21-10)
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