City News


Fort Lauderdale to Recognize Citizens Recognition Awards Honorees at First-ever Combined Event Feb. 28

Post Date:February 12, 2019 9:35 AM


For Immediate Release
February 8, 2019

Media Contact:
Monique J. Damiano, Sr. Strategic Communications Specialist
(954) 828-5942 /

Fort Lauderdale, FL – Mayor Dean J. Trantalis and the Fort Lauderdale City Commission will officially recognize the following
2018 Citizens Recognition Awards honorees during the first-ever combined State of the City Address and 44th Annual Citizens Recognition Awards on Thursday, February 28, 2019. The event will take place at the NSU Art Museum Fort Lauderdale, located at 1 E. Las Olas Boulevard, beginning with a reception at 6 p.m., followed by the State of the City Address and the Awards ceremony at 7 p.m.  Registration for the event is required.

Citizen of the Year
Jo Ann Smith

Distinguished Citizen
Mike Jackson

 Honored Founders
Ramola and the Late Ramesh “Bob” Motwani

 Exemplary Former City Employee
Frank Adderley

The Citizens Recognition Awards were established by the City of Fort Lauderdale in 1972 to recognize citizens whose efforts and achievements foster civic pride and responsibility, encourage public service, promote an appreciation for the City's heritage, and significantly contribute to the development of the Fort Lauderdale community. Honorees are recommended by the Citizens Committee of Recognition and ratified by the Fort Lauderdale City Commission. More than 130 outstanding citizens have been recognized by the City since the program’s inception.

For questions about the combined event, email or call 954-828-4741.


Return to full list >>