FortLauderdale.gov

NITE Team Web Banner_w901px

Nighttime Economy

Print

Fort Lauderdale’s overall economy is evolving to include new sustainable industries, technology, conventions and expanded services, requiring the young professionals bringing new skills and older professionals providing strategic and management skills. A dynamic nighttime economy with vibrant social experience is the priority amenity many of these people seek. As a metropolitan city that is experiencing significant growth and influx of population, the City of Fort Lauderdale has been working hard to maintain not only levels of service, but levels of safety in its nighttime economy.

Fort Lauderdale offers a wide array of social options in the form of dining, entertainment and special events. Among the many entertainment options to choose from include: music, film, live entertainment, concerts both indoors and outdoors, sporting events, boating and other water entertainment, street art festivals, museums the Riverwalk and various holiday events.

The Nightime Economy division (NITE) of the City Manager's Office provides quality services to neighbors and businesses as the nighttime economy within the City continues to grow. The division works to promote social order, safety, and enhanced service provisions for all those who work, play and live after 5 pm and on weekends. The division is comprised of a cross-departmental team of Police, Fire-Rescue, Code Compliance, and Parks and Recreation personnel and is led by the Nighttime Economy Manager. 

The Nighttime Economy team serves as a liaison to city, county, and state agencies, hospitality and business organizations, educational institutions and neighborhoods with an active social (dining, entertainment event) district.

Nighttime Economy Other Areas of Responsibility:

To report nightlife or non-emergency safety concerns after 5 pm, please call 954-828-8000. For an emergency, call 9-1-1.

Nighttime Economy Team
Name Title Office Phone Email
Sarah Hannah-Spurlock Nighttime Economy Team Manager 954-828-5085 sspurlock@fortlauderdale.gov
Barbara Smith Senior Administrative Assistant/Special Events Coordinator 954-828-6075 basmith@fortlauderdale.gov
Avery Figueras Police Lieutenant 954-828-8000 afigueras@fortlauderdale.gov
Igor Santos Police Officer 954-828-8000
isantos@fortlauderdale.gov
Leo Arena Police Officer 954-828-8000
larena@fortlauderdale.gov
Jan Caldera Police Officer 954-828-8000
JCaldera@fortlauderdale.gov
George White Senior Code Compliance Officer 954-828-8000 gwhite@fortlauderdale.gov
David Heaney
Parks Supervisor
954-828-8000
dheaney@fortlauderdale.gov

To obtain additional information, please call the NITE division at 954-828-6075.

Location:

100 North Andrews Avenue
Fort Lauderdale, Florida 33301

Meet our new Nighttime Economy Manager.

Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Acrobat Reader Flash Player QuickTime Windows Media Player Microsoft Silverlight Word Viewer Excel Viewer PowerPoint Viewer