The Fire Rescue Department operates from 11 strategically located fire stations with more than 450 total employees, which are ideally situated to deliver comprehensive emergency services to the citizens and visitors of the City of Fort Lauderdale and contract service areas expeditiously. Operations Division services are provided through the 24/7 deployment of twelve Advance Life Support (ALS) engine companies, 16 medical rescue units, one Aircraft Rescue Fire Fighting (ARFF) company, two 105-foot aerial ladder/quint companies, one 95’ tower ladder, one Hazardous Materials Response Team (HazMat), two Fire Rescue boats and one Heavy Rescue Squad. Daily staffing provides three battalion chiefs, one division chief, and a minimum staffing level of 86 Fire Rescue personnel.

House fire Photo



The deployment of Fort Lauderdale Fire Rescue resources is predicated upon achieving pre-established response time benchmarks. In order to measure our performance regarding identified goals and objectives, specific response time benchmarks have been established.

From a customer perspective, one of the most important benchmarks is the "First Unit Arrival" time. The "First Unit Arrival" benchmark established by the City of Fort Lauderdale Fire-Rescue Department is to provide the first unit (fire or EMS) in six minutes or less, 90% of the time.



The Operations Division also participates in the following community and business services in conjunction with the programs offered by other department bureaus:

  • Testing and building life-safety systems and pre-planning building response

  • Disaster preparedness, damage assessment and post-event recovery services

  • Community relations with engine and rescue companies at homeowner association meetings and community events
  • Provision of off-duty detail units for special events and local sport activities



Operations Division
            Timothy Heiser             
Deputy Fire Chief
Division Chiefs 

Robert Bacic
Division Chief
A Shift


Melanie Snowhite
Division Chief
B Shift

John F. San Angelo

Division Chief
C Shift 
 BatTalion Chiefs



Cris Dietz Small 

Christopher Dietz




          Kenneth R. Rudominer   



 David J. Carter

 Troy K. Cool


     Harold Knowles


             John H. Ramirez           

      Edward S. Duncan III       

        BC Denman Final

         Tuyle Denman 

Stewart Ahearn

     Jason Bohan     

BC Gollan

Steven Gollan

         BC McGloughlin


BC Pingol

Garret Pingol

BC May

Gregory May

BC Salzano

Mike Salzano

BC Peasant2

Eric Peasant



BC Hicks

Michael Hicks














Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Acrobat Reader Flash Player QuickTime Windows Media Player Microsoft Silverlight Word Viewer Excel Viewer PowerPoint Viewer