INTERACTIVE RESIDENTIAL DIAGRAM (click for full screen)
Do you need to know what the permitting requirements are for your project? Click on the image below to bring up a full screen version. Then simply select the area you would like information about to bring up a comprehensive checklist.
PERMITTING FORMS AND CONTACT INFORMATION PER DISCIPLINE
- The Board of Rules and Appeals rate decrease becomes effective on October 1, 2018. Resolution # 2018-368 revises the construction fee to .65 cents per $1,000.
- House Bill 535 enacted a provision to Florida law whereby local jurisdictions may no longer require the payment of any additional fees, charges, or expenses associated with:
- Providing proof of licensure pursuant to chapter 489
- Recording or filing a license a license pursuant to chapter 489; or,
- Providing, recording, or filing evidence of workers’ compensation insurance coverage as required by ch. 440
- Therefore, effective immediately, this fee will no longer be charged
As of June 1, 2018, DSD will no longer be accepting owner-builder re-roof permit applications due to conflict with 2018 FL State Statute 489(7)(a)2. We will accept permit applications for:
- 200 square ft. or less roof repairs
- Owner-builder re-roof permit applications during a Governor declared state of emergency
- As of March 26, 2018, new legislation requiring emergency power generators at all Florida Nursing Homes and Assisted Living Facilities was signed into State Law. For more information, please click here.
- White out corrections on applications must be approved first by the Building Official or his designated Assistant. This additional approval might cause delays in the timely processing of documents. For efficiency and for a smoother application process, please provide applications without any white out corrections. It will avoid delays.
- Condominium Associations: Please note that permits must be pulled for remodeling work in any condominium unit.
- The IVR/FLAIR online system was phased out on January 31, 2018. Please check permit status or schedule inspections online or by calling 954-828-6520
- The 6th Edition of the Florida Building Code went into effect on December 31, 2017. Permits applied for as of 12/31/17 will be required to adhere to the most current requirements.
- As of October 1, 2015, all plans submitted to the City must be no larger than 24 x 36 inches only. This standard size will be vital to our digitization efforts in the future.
- As of 04/01/2016, only the Broward County Uniform Building Permit Application will be accepted. The form is fillable; neighbors are encouraged to fill it out online and print it for legibility purposes.
2017 FLORIDA BUILDING CODE 6th EDITION
- Broward County amendments in chapter 1 regarding permits, permitting requirements and permitting exclusions
FLORIDA'S CONSTRUCTION LIEN LAW
According to Florida Statute 713, Part 1, as it pertains to home construction and remodeling, those who work on your property or provide materials and are not paid-in-full have a right to enforce their claim for payment against your property. This claim is known as a construction lien.
If your contractor fails to pay subcontractors or material suppliers, the people who are owed money may look to your property for payment, even if you have paid your contractor in full. This means that if a lien is filed against your property, your property could be sold against your will to pay for labor, materials, or other services which your contractor may have failed to pay.
As a convenience to customers, the City of Fort Lauderdale is has compiled a list of area contractors. Please note that this list does not serve as an endorsement or referral of any kind. Selecting a contractor is solely the decision and responsibility of the property owner.
CONTRACTOR REGISTRATION RENEWALS
It is once again time to update your professional license information for State License or Broward County Certificate of Competency as of 08/31/2016. Please use the following online form to electronically submit your renewal forms and information so that we may maintain a current and accurate database and avoid any delay of permitting due to license expiration. Contractor Registration Renewal Form
- Learn more about fees on the Permit Fees page.
CALL 811 BEFORE YOU DIG!
Safe digging is everyone's responsibility. Call 811 to find out when and where you can dig.
For more information on this program, please visit www.sunshine811.com/homeowner