Get the latest coronavirus updates and information on community resources and business assistance.

City Commission

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option
Commissioner Heather Moraitis Mayor Dean J. Trantalis
Commissioner Steven Glassman
Heather Moraitis
Commissioner - District 1
Dean J. Trantalis
Steven Glassman
Vice Mayor
Commissioner - District 2
Commissioner Robert L. McKinzie


 City of Fort Lauderdale

 Commissioner Ben Sorensen
Robert L. McKinzie
Commissioner - District 3
  Ben Sorensen
Commissioner - District 4


Mission of the City Commission

The mission of the Fort Lauderdale City Commission is to represent the public interest, promote quick and courteous response to residents' problems, provide leadership and direction for the City's future, and assure the present and future fiscal integrity of the municipal government.

The City of Fort Lauderdale has a Commission-Manager form of government. Under this form of government, the elected City Commission sets policies for the operation of the City. The City Commission consists of five members: the mayor and four district commission members. The administrative responsibility of the City rests with the City Manager, who is appointed by the City Commission.

The four commissioners are elected by individual districts; the mayor is elected at large. Each serves a three-year term.

 CFL 38 (RRRR) - crop square



Pictured above left to right:  Commissioner Ben Sorensen, District IV; Commissioner Steven Glassman, District II; Mayor Dean J. Trantalis; Vice Mayor Robert L. McKinzie, District III; Commissioner Heather Moraitis, District I. 

Correspondence to the Mayor and Commissioners may be addressed to:

City Hall
100 North Andrews Avenue
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301

Tel. (954) 828-5003/5004