Get the latest coronavirus updates and information on community resources and business assistance.

Citizens Recognition Awards

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

2965 CCR Web Header



The Citizens Recognition Awards recognize Fort Lauderdale citizens whose efforts and achievements foster civic pride and responsibility, encourage public service, promote an appreciation of the City's heritage, and significantly contribute to the development of this community. Since the program’s inception in 1972, Fort Lauderdale has recognized more than 130 outstanding citizens. 

2018 Citizens Recognition Awards Honorees

 4687 CCR 2018_Jo Ann Smith  4687 CCR 2018_Motwani

 2018 Citizen of the Year
Jo Ann Smith
Watch the presentation video
Read the Proclamation pdf


2018 Honored Founders
Ramola and the late Ramesh "Bob" Motwani
Watch the presentation video
Read the Proclamation pdf

 4687 CCR 2018_Adderley  4687 CCR 2018_Mike Jackson
 2018 Exemplary City Employee
 Frank Adderley
Watch the presentation video
Read the Proclamation pdf

 2018 Distinguished Citizen
 Mike Jackson
Watch the presentation video
Read the Proclamation pdf


Past award recipients pdf
Award categories
Committee members
Videos from past honoree presentations
Photos from the 2017 awards event

Program Timeline

  • 1972: The Citizens Recognition Program was initiated.
  • 1984: The Citizens Recognition Program was amended to include Citizen of the Year and Distinguished Citizen awards.
  • 1989:  The Honored Founder category was added to the program (effective 1990).
  • 1997:  The Exemplary Former City Employee category was added to the program. 


Award Categories

Citizen of the Year

The Citizen of the Year award is for that person who, in the opinion of the Committee and the City Commission, has made the greatest contribution to the community in the current year. The Citizen of the Year must be a Fort Lauderdale resident.

Distinguished Citizen

The Distinguished Citizen award is given to that resident of the community who has contributed to the
development of Fort Lauderdale over a number of years (i.e., a pioneer).

Honored Founder

The Honored Founder award is for a courageous citizen who prepared the way for future growth and
harmony in Fort Lauderdale.

Exemplary Former City Employee

The Exemplary Former City Employee award recognizes a former City employee who has served the citizens of Fort Lauderdale for a significant number of years and whose service has made a significant impact on
the development and quality of life for the community. This person may be retired, deceased or separated from the City.

Citizens Committee of Recognition

Each year, the Citizens Committee of Recognition - consisting of all former Mayors of Fort Lauderdale, as well as one former City Commissioner, two former honorees, and the President of the Council of Fort Lauderdale Civic Associations or his/her designee -reviews nominations and provides their recommendations for the four annual awards to the City Commission for approval. Members of the Citizens Committee of Recognition include:

James Naugle, Former Mayor
John P. "Jack" Seiler, Former Mayor, Chairperson
John Rodstrom, Former Commissioner
Mary C. Fertig, Former Honoree
Ina Lee, Former Honoree
Michael Albetta, Fort Lauderdale Council of Civic Associations Representative

Read Citizens Committee of Recognition meeting agendas and minutes.

Past Honoree Presentation Videos

Year Citizen of the Year Distinguished Citizen Honored Founder Exemplary Former City Employee
2015 Sharon Major-Hughes Donald Singer Stanford K. Smoker Greg Brewton
2016 Charles A. "Chuck" Black Michael C. Weymouth Dr. James Franklin Sistrunk Ava Bradley Moore
John F. Fuhrer
 2017  Mary C. Fertig  Ronald J. Centamore  Terry Stiles  Freddie "Gene"Dempsey


Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Acrobat Reader Download Acrobat Reader Flash Player Download Flash Player Windows Media Player Download Windows Media Player Microsoft Silverlight Download Microsoft Silverlight Word Viewer Download Word Viewer Excel Viewer Download Excel Viewer PowerPoint Viewer Download PowerPoint Viewer

Citizens Recognition Awards 2018 Honorees

Updated on March 21, 2019 12:44 AM

The City of Fort Lauderdale Citizens Recognition Program was established in 1972 to give public recognition to citizens who contributed to the development of this community in significant ways. This album contains photos from the 2018 Citizens Recognition Awards event, held , February 28, 2019, where the City honored four outstanding citizens: Jo Ann Smith, Citizen of the Year; Ramola and the late Ramesh "Bob" Motwani, Honored Founders, Mike Jackson, Distinguished Citizen, and Frank Adderley, Exemplary Former Employee.