Get the latest coronavirus updates and information on community resources and business assistance.


Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

City Hall

The City of Fort Lauderdale has been operating under a Commission-Manager form of government since 1925. The City Commission is comprised of the Mayor, who is elected at-large, and four Commissioners, who are elected in non‐partisan district races. Elections occur every three years and each elected official is eligible to serve three consecutive three‐year terms

As the City’s legislative body, the City Commission sets policy, passes ordinances, adopts resolutions, and makes appointments to advisory boards and committees.

The City Manager is appointed by and reports directly to the City Commission. As Chief Executive Officer, the City Manager is responsible for directing the City’s day‐to‐day operations and carrying out the policies set forth by the Commission.

Chris Lagerbloom, Fort Lauderdale’s current City Manager, began serving on January 1, 2019.